St Gabriels Ladies club crest was first envisaged as a St Gabriels GAA (mens) club crest in 2010 as a result of the club having no club crest or logo. Incorporating the club name in Gaelic 'NAOIMH GABRIEL CUMANN PEILE' (ST GABRIELS LADIES FOOTBALL CLUB - translation) in the colours of green and gold. The Gaelic spelling is the dative singular feminine of naomh. St Gabriels Ladies adopted the crest with the addition of the translated St Gabriels Ladies text (arial bold font) in neon pink shortly afterwards.
As St Gabriels GAA (mens) club had its main pitch and clubhouse in the East Galway village of Kilconnell it was decided that the friary would form the largest section of the new crest. The silhouette of the friary/abbey depicted was originally taken from the negative of a photograph taken specifically for the creation of the logo.
In keeping with the tradition of the long and rich history of agricultural life and farming in the area the triple wheat sheaf is used to highlight this.
The depiction of the church with a bell tower is a simplification of the actual church in the village of Kilreekil.
St Gabriels Ladies club play their home games in the neighbouring village of Aughrim. The crossed sabres on a blue background and year of 1691 is in commemoration of the famous Battle of Aughrim which was the decisive battle of the Williamite War in Ireland.
Website provided By The Bootman